EU Descartes Prize 2005 - NIERSCsite

Go to content

Main menu:

EU Descartes Prize 2005


The EU Descartes Prize 2005
NIERSC was awarded with the prestigious EU Descartes Prize for the project «Climate and Environmental Changes in the Arctic – CECA» in 2005. NIERSC became a Descartes Prize Laureate as a member of the international consortium consisting of Nansen Center in Bergen, Norway (Prof. Ola M. Johannessen – project leader and coordinator, and Lasse H. Pettersson – project deputy leader), Max–Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg, Germany (Prof. Lennart Bengtsson), and St. Petersburg Nansen Centre (Dr. Leonid P. Bobylev). The prize award money (200,000 Euro) is used at the Nansen Centre in St. Petersburg in a three–year program for further studies of the Arctic climate, supporting young Russian scientists and PhD students.
More information about CECA project can be found in the Descartes brochure 2005 with the highlights of awarded projects.

The Descartes Prizes Award Ceremony
took place at The Royal Societny, London  on the 2nd of the December 2005.

Back to content | Back to main menu